top of page
Search
  • emcmillan0914

The Importance of the Relationship Between an Author and a PA.


There has been a lot of facebook drama about an anonymous confession by a PA about the author he/she works for. I shared the post on my facebook wall because I am in the unique position of being a PA and an author. The post itself was very disturbing to me for many reasons. I also saw many people (authors, PAs, readers) chime in with a unanimous opinion. I am not going to repost the post and give the author of it anymore attention, but I will use my voice to voice my opinions, thoughts, and concerns.


The relationship between an Author and PA is so important. The author depends on their PA not only to help them get the word out about their book(s), but also to help behind the scenes with all the important things. I know for the authors that I PA for, I help beta read and/or review for them. I also take on the role of motivational speaker or life coach when they are having a bad day and need a friendly voice to talk them off the edge. I help them manage their online presence. I also help them take care of sending out prizes for giveaways that they have run, and so much more. These people become like family to me and I personally take my role in their careers and lives very seriously.


Now from the flip side of things, I also have a PA who is new to the role, but is an absolute gem! This is a learning experience for the both of us. She is learning how to be a PA and I am learning to trust someone, other than myself, with my words and new chosen career. I am letting go of some of the control that I have held so tightly to and letting her help me. I trust that this sweet woman has my best interest at heart and wants to see me succeed as much as I want to. We have a very special relationship and I also think of her as family. I haven't been faced with the challenges of feeling like I can't make it in this business, but I have a feeling that when I do she will be one of the loudest ones in my ear telling me to keep going.


The role of PA is one that should not be entered into or taken lightly. It is one of the backbones of the author and book community. If this is something that you can not put your whole heart and self into, maybe it is not the right fit for you. People are depending on you. It is more than just a way to make a quick buck. Most PAs are paid pennies for the long hours and commitment that they put into the job. One thing that is NEVER ok is to make an author feel like they are not good enough or they are doing something wrong. It is the job of the PA to assist and uplift. This role is not for everyone.


I am so thankful for the authors that I PA for and for the PA that I have helping me. Their success is my success and I hope that my success is also my PA's success. All of us make an incredible team! I am so excited for what 2019 is going to bring us all.





48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page