top of page
Search
  • emcmillan0914

Living In Your Truth

Living in your truth is something I have honestly just started doing. I have also started incorporated it into all aspects of my life, including my writing. I learned about this concept from a family friend and feel like a new person since I started applying this to my life.


Living in your truth means being 100 in every aspect of your life. Knowing who you are, accepting who you are (faults and all), and putting your whole self out there. It means you don't have take crap from anyone. It also means that you have accepted yourself and that is what you are putting out there for the world. The world can either love it or hate it, and either is ok.


I didn't always like myself. I didn't have the best childhood (we all have our issues with our parents :-P ). I have made a lot of mistakes along my journey through life. I have been hurt...a lot, and I have hurt people (both intentionally and unintentionally.) For a long time, I didn't like to own the ugly. I only owned the good that I did. I wasn't being honest with myself or anyone else. I didn't do it intentionally, we all do it. We like to focus on the good and try to hide the bad. Very recently, I took a long hard look at myself. My dad helped with this one. He told me how he really saw me and what he thought of the woman that I have become. (No thanks to him.) The old me would have cried and told anyone who would listen all the mean and horrible things he said to me. I would have let the ugliness eat away at me until I was sitting in a dark room hiding from the world. The new me took what he said and is now doing everything that I can do to prove him wrong! I want to take over the world and be able to say to him and everyone else who thinks I am a disappointment, "I did this without you! I am amazing in spite of you! I am a freaking ROCKSTAR and you have no claim on my success!!!"


Another part of living in my truth is owning the hurt that I have dished out to people. I have started doing that and even started trying to make amends to the people that I have hurt. Accepting the fact that I am not perfect, but I am human is what I am working on right now. In the sprit of living in my truth...If I have ever done anything to ever hurt you, I am truly sorry. Hurting you was never my intention. I never want to be known as the type of person who intentionally hurts others. That is not me!!


Living in my truth is something that I am carrying over into my writing. I am trying to write real and honest characters that readers can connect with. Life is messy and so are people. The characters that I have written so far all have a little part of me...the good, the bad, the sad, the lonely (at times), the warrior, and so much more. I get asked all the time which of my leading ladies is the most like me...I would have to say Leah from The Weekend Getaway. I poured everything that I was feeling at the time into her. She is a manifestation of every insecurity, frustration, fantasy, etc that I was feeling at the time. I really think that she is a real and honest representation of me sometimes. Some people don't like her (or the story) and I can honestly say that I am ok with that. I know now that not everyone is going to like me or accept me for who I am. Now that I am living in my truth, I am ok with that.


Going forward, I am going to continue living and writing in my truth. You are going to get the real me. Love me or hate me...that is ok. I love me!!!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page